RSS Feed

Capital Punishment and other Issues I feel strongly about, plus volunteering opportunities

http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/badastronomy/2011/09/21/the-night-the-lights-went-out-in-georgia/

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/cifamerica/2011/sep/14/troy-davis-death-penalty-lynching

Above are two links to articles about a recent execution of an African American in Georgia named Troy Davis. He was given capital punishment in September despite the fact that seven out of nine witnesses recanted their testimony regarding whether or not they had tangible evidence that Davis was guilty.

There are a number of issues, the death penalty being one, that I feel very strongly about. Some of them I talk less about than others. I could even make a list: Vegetarianism/veganism, environmentalism, animal rights in general, equality between men and women, anti-abortion but pro-choice, freedom of religion, tolerance of differences across all nationalities and races, non-violence…. and there are probably more that are not coming to mind…. mental health awareness, disability advocacy, etc.

I try not to be pushy about my beliefs. I believe likewise that we all have the right to our personal beliefs so long as we’re not hurting anyone.

I also attempt to weave my beliefs into my actions. I can only do so much, of course. I recycle as much as possible, buy some organic food, talk about environmental issues with people, have become open about mental health issues with friends, volunteer at the Omni Resource Center, and I have helped put on as well as participated in other events related to mental health awareness in Monterey and other places. I try to walk my talk, so to speak.

I always wish I could do a little bit more. There’s always more to be done. But there’s only one of me. There are man more other people, however, and hopefully, the positive actions can add up into one big picture of progress.

Today I volunteered at Omni again. By the way, I forgot to write in my extra hours on my time sheet, darn. Oh well, there’s always next time.

About theworldofwilma

I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a niece, a cousin, a patient, a friend, a woman, a client, a parent, a vegetarian, a believer, an environmentalist and probably much more. . . but mostly I'm just me, quirky, silly ol' nonsensical Wilma, and I wouldn't have it any other way. In addition, I am just recently new in the world of self published, self illustrated children's literature. Please see some pictures from my first work. I invite all interest and dialogue from illustration artists, authors, publishers, marketers, writers of all kinds, parents, or anyone interested in the printed word for young readers. I am just starting out and want to learn all I can.

2 responses »

  1. I’m with you on this one…. I walk my talk, even if I feel I’m the only one. My family think I’m the recycling monster ( I was about to say nazi, instead of monster). Thank you for caring.

    Greetings !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

