RSS Feed

Chilly today. Hot tamale.

The title of this entry is an old saying. My mother used to say that when I was growing up. It was a very sweet kind of pun for me. My father also liked puns as humor. I’ve heard it said that this is not a very high form of humor. Still, sometimes, it can be fun to pun.

There is some kind of alarm that is stuck on my oven. I don’t think it’s harmful, but it is somewhat annoying. I can barely hear it from my bedroom, but whenever I go into that part of the apartment, it’s audible. Oh well. Oh smell, as Chris used to say.

Soon, I need to take a shower, get dressed, and get to the center Our Voices in Monterey. I’ll be working on editing the newsletter that doesn’t come out until February. I asked one person at Omni to contribute. He seemed appreciative and interested. I can ask around Our Voices as well when I go over.

While in Monterey, I’m going to take the opportunity to go to Trader Joe’s and/or the farmer’s market on Alvarado St. That’s probably the best one in the area. By going to Monterey once a week to get work done on the newsletter, I can get a chance to get some healthy, fresh food at least. I’ve decided to go vegan again, so that will be crucial.

Maybe I could find some winter squash, sweet potatoes, beets. I saw a recipe for roasting beets in the oven, also roasting sweet potatoes. I have to look this up. I should get some more tofu, see if they have tofu scrambler mix. Some good salad from the farmer’s market would be marvelous. Maybe some pumpkin seeds for salads would be lovely, too. I should also look for things to make potatoes. I like red potatoes in soups with vegetables, maybe tri-color curly pasta. I love making soup. Another thing I could find is quinoa. It’s an alternative grain to wheat or rice that has more protein. One can make couscous, tabouli salad or use it as rice or even as breakfast. It’s very versatile. Some fruit would be nice as well. Maybe some nice pomegranates for salad. Mmmm, I’m getting excited already. I could get baked tofu as well as the regular to add cubes to my salads. I think this is going to work out nicely.

About theworldofwilma

I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a niece, a cousin, a patient, a friend, a woman, a client, a parent, a vegetarian, a believer, an environmentalist and probably much more. . . but mostly I'm just me, quirky, silly ol' nonsensical Wilma, and I wouldn't have it any other way. In addition, I am just recently new in the world of self published, self illustrated children's literature. Please see some pictures from my first work. I invite all interest and dialogue from illustration artists, authors, publishers, marketers, writers of all kinds, parents, or anyone interested in the printed word for young readers. I am just starting out and want to learn all I can.

Leave a Reply

