RSS Feed

Philosophy of the Face

 

My Face

My face is a picture I show to the world, but it’s not a photograph.  If you believe in God, it might be the work of a deity.  If you believe in science, it might be the work of the genetic coil.  Maybe you believe in a combination, then it could be both.  My face is my portal to see the world, and it is my visual leader.  It tells the world what I am thinking without words.  It helps convey messages through my mouth and facial expressions with the eyes. It channels thoughts into my own brain.  It is a threshold to the world, and it is part of the world because I am a part of the world even as I am a grain of sand.

Does the sand blow in the wind?  Or am I more of an automaton with my movements programmed by another, like the one in Hugo, the film?  Do I control myself?  Do I decide my fate?  Is my fate determined by my face, the expression I give to others, which leaves an impression, first and second and foremost?

Are the eyes really so full of impact?  Are they really windows?  Could they be mirrors?  Movie screens?  Maybe they are individual faces attached to a larger face.  Why do the images come into the retina upside down?  Are they eyes the projector?  Is the projector outside myself or in me?  What is the subject of the play of life that I behold?  Maybe my eyes are just tools.  Maybe they just allow me to trace a path.  Do they create envy based on allowing me to see others’ possessions?  Are they worthy of vengeance should someone inflict violence upon one (an eye for an eye, does it leave the whole world blind?).  What is the reasoning in the creator or the DNA or evolution or whatever architect you envision for making the pupils vary in color?  Why are some people blind?  Would it really be so bad?

The nose, is it my reason for being fat?  I hear most of my appreciation for foods comes from the nose.  Why is it shaped the way it is?  If it points upward am I destined for Heaven?  Or am I a snob?  Can it bring me more serenity?   I could be more aware of my surroundings with my nose, practice mindfulness with my nose, notice scents or just breathe the air.  Is a stuffy nose a way to challenge my mindfulness?  Is it a test?  Do people with bigger noses have a better sense of smell?  Do things smell better or worse to them or the same?  How do I know if something I smell smells the same to someone else?  How do you define smell?  The nose could be a safety device to let us know of a gas leak.  Maybe the nose is a police officer or a firefighter?

Symmetry.  Beauty is often defined by you.  Why?  What is so good about being symmetrical?  Does it come from structural ideas or just aesthetics?  Contours.  Maybe the contours are like the sides of a mountain and at the top of your forehead is the wise man, pre-frontal lobe.

Individuality.  Unless you are identical to your sibling, no one else looks exactly like you.  Is a face like a very big thumbprint?  It identifies and tells the world, “I’ve arrived.”  Your name is most associated with your face.  One of the most basic things for children and adults to recognize is a face picture even if it is not supposed to be there.  We automatically look for faces.  Are we looking for friends or just noticing?

 

God has given you one face, and you make yourself another.
William Shakespeare

Read more:http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/face.html#ixzz1ht3lds8I

About theworldofwilma

I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a niece, a cousin, a patient, a friend, a woman, a client, a parent, a vegetarian, a believer, an environmentalist and probably much more. . . but mostly I'm just me, quirky, silly ol' nonsensical Wilma, and I wouldn't have it any other way. In addition, I am just recently new in the world of self published, self illustrated children's literature. Please see some pictures from my first work. I invite all interest and dialogue from illustration artists, authors, publishers, marketers, writers of all kinds, parents, or anyone interested in the printed word for young readers. I am just starting out and want to learn all I can.

Leave a Reply

