RSS Feed

At Least I’ve Got Some Wisdom? …. And maybe that’s enough to see me through

That’s what my mother told me when I told her I had to get my right upper wisdom tooth out.  It turns out that it’s going to be the one on the left as well.  I’ve already had both lower ones out when I was 18, so that’s bye bye to the wisdom teeth.  After that, the oral surgeon will check that the one next to the right wisdom tooth did not have its root surface eroded by the pushing of the wisdom tooth.

My husband and I have been discussing the pros and cons of moving back together, or rather, him moving in with me.

We are now coming to the conclusion that it is true what Katherine Hepburn said about men and women living next door (see quote below for details).  You think I’m joking?  Really, I’m serious.  If you visit Wikipedia, it will tell you that in the U.K. around 10% of couples and in Australia, Canada, and the U.S. up to 9% of couples participate in a non-traditional relationship arrangement sometimes deemed Living Apart Together (L.A.T.).  The wiki article was not specific, but it seemed this arrangement could take a number of forms including married couples, although that was not explicitly discussed.

There are specific pros to this that others may not anticipate.  Christopher could get Section 8 housing (in the same complex as me), be  able to spend time with me when we both have time to spend, we could have our homes the way we like them while still being able to be in the same space a lot of the time, we could share meals together without doing so every time.  Christopher could have me cook for him if he likes or eat the meals he likes to eat on his own.  He could have his mother over without me there.

Naturally, I am not comparing myself to Katherine Hepburn.  I am only relating to the quotation, of course.  In this instance, it seems to fit as a concept nicely.  I’ve always been resistant to unusual circumstances, but you know, that still doesn’t ever have seemed to have stopped them from catching up with me.

Sometimes I wonder if men and women really suit each other.  Perhaps they should live next door and just visit now and then.  ~Katherine Hepburn

About theworldofwilma

I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a niece, a cousin, a patient, a friend, a woman, a client, a parent, a vegetarian, a believer, an environmentalist and probably much more. . . but mostly I'm just me, quirky, silly ol' nonsensical Wilma, and I wouldn't have it any other way. In addition, I am just recently new in the world of self published, self illustrated children's literature. Please see some pictures from my first work. I invite all interest and dialogue from illustration artists, authors, publishers, marketers, writers of all kinds, parents, or anyone interested in the printed word for young readers. I am just starting out and want to learn all I can.

2 responses »

  1. Not a BAD idea from where I’m sitting. Absence makes the heart grow fonder?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

