RSS Feed

When the Heart and Soul Go Walking

Making the decision to have a child is momentous.  It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.  ~Elizabeth Stone

I wrote something similar to this right after my son was born.  I said having a child was having your soul walk around outside your body.  One element of this is that if that part of one’s soul is not in immediate sight, then the parent is likely to always wonder after the welfare.  Even if I know with almost complete certainty that my child is well cared for, I still want to know. He will always be my child, even when he has a different last name, calls someone else “mommy” or goes off to college as a young man.

Love is love; the heart is the heart; my son is my son.  Every day.

Leave a Reply

