RSS Feed

Fracturization

Yesterday morning my husband and I thought it might be nice to go to Denny’s.  We didn’t go to church as we had planned.  I took a shower, got ready while Christopher went out for a walk.  He came back, and I was almost ready.

The apartment is near a mall at the back of which is Sears and the parking lot in back of Sears.  We often would take that as a shortcut to get to the bus stop or Denny’s or whatever.  I was wearing some chunky, poorly fitted, used leather clogs that I had him throw away after the incident.  He had told me SOOO many times not to wear them.  I didn’t listen.

I screamed bloody murder when I fell.  He was visibly scared and rightfully so.  Luckily, I didn’t get cut by the glass.  I don’t know if it even broke.  I just know I landed hard on the concrete, twisted an ankle that I had injured twice before.  

He managed to walk me over to Urgent Care.  It hurt, but I survived.  I called a cab for us to get back to my place.  I don’t think it’s lazy.  I was avoiding overtaxing my injured ankle.

Christopher had to go yesterday afternoon because he lives somewhere else, has obligations there from the program and because he had to go to work today.  Tomorrow he will probably be able to come over since his landscaping crew doesn’t work when it rains, and the forecast gives an 80% chance of rain.  

I got a cab over to my primary care doctor today.  They got me X-Rays.  They did not give me crutches or any cast.  They said they would call tomorrow about going to an orthopedic doctor.  It was also then they informed me the X-Ray showed a small fracture.

I am not knowledgeable about medical issues.  Does the size of fracture indicate seriousness and severity?  

I’ve looked on various health and medical sites for info and done random searches.  I also called the emergency room to get advice on what to do at home.  They said that if the doctor did not give me crutches, I can put a small amount of weight on it and be okay.  That’s basically enough to get around my small apartment or walk with assistance.

I’ve been hopping around my apartment holding onto furniture and doorknobs.  I also take Ibuprofen.  

I called around to friends.  My friend who often gives me rides must have been busy this morning and wasn’t able to take me to the doctor, so this is why I took a cab.  I must admit, I feel kind of independent doing this on my own even if I wish I would have gotten some kind of crutches at least.  

I am kind of nervous.  I hope the stabilization will not be painful and at least will heal reasonably well that I can move about and go places.  As another good friend pointed out, I am very mobile.  I take the bus everywhere I go, so I do a lot of walking everywhere.  I’m especially concerned about regular doctor’s appointments and my visits with my son.  Especially with my son, I don’t want to miss that.  His birthday is at the end of next month.

About theworldofwilma

I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a niece, a cousin, a patient, a friend, a woman, a client, a parent, a vegetarian, a believer, an environmentalist and probably much more. . . but mostly I'm just me, quirky, silly ol' nonsensical Wilma, and I wouldn't have it any other way. In addition, I am just recently new in the world of self published, self illustrated children's literature. Please see some pictures from my first work. I invite all interest and dialogue from illustration artists, authors, publishers, marketers, writers of all kinds, parents, or anyone interested in the printed word for young readers. I am just starting out and want to learn all I can.

2 responses »

  1. ouch, sorry to hear there was a fracture. I think doctors just do what they need to to get on with the next patient sometimes. You should have a least gotten crutches.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Fracturization (As the Crutches Turn) « theworldofwilma

Leave a Reply

